Replacing the BackHub OAuth App with the new BackHub GitHub App
For all BackHub Basic customers we are replacing the BackHub OAuth App (BackHub Basic) with the new BackHub GitHub App (BackHub on GitHub Marketplace). If you are a BackHub Basic customer, it is required that you install the BackHub GitHub App to continue creating backups for your account.
Why is the OAuth App being replaced?
GitHub Apps are the officially recommended way to integrate with GitHub because they offer many advantages over a OAuth-based integration, such as better security through more fine-grained permissions and short-lived tokens, a higher API rate limit, and much more. That is why we will be deprecating the BackHub OAuth app in June 2019.
The new BackHub GitHub App (BackHub on GitHub Marketplace) offers numerous benefits and advanced features. For example, BackHub on GitHub Marketplace creates snapshots of up to 30 days back in time, whereas BackHub Basic can only create one backup that is updated daily.
We are now focused solely on building new features for BackHub on GitHub Marketplace. This is how we can provide the more robust and valuable service to our customers.
What do I need to do?
As a BackHub Basic customer, you can keep your current paid plan and get a free upgrade to use the more advanced backup solution, BackHub on GitHub Marketplace.
You need to install the BackHub App for the user/organization you’d like to create backups for. You do this through the GitHub App Directory.
When you install the app, BackHub automatically recognizes that you already have an active plan for your username/organization. You DO NOT need to purchase a plan through GitHub Marketplace.
BackHub creates backups for all repositories you grant access to. If you grant access to “All repositories” then backups for all current and future repositories will be automatically created. If you want to backup only select repositories, choose “Only select repositories” and enter the names of the repositories you want to backup.
Note: If you have archived backups that no longer exist in your GitHub account, we will move them over manually after the migration. This may take a few days.
What happens if I don’t migrate before the removal date?
If you don’t migrate to BackHub on GitHub Marketplace by the removal date, June 30th 2019, your plan will be canceled and you will no longer be able to access your data or the BackHub Basic interface. However, you can always create a completely new account on BackHub on GitHub Marketplace.
Who should I contact if I need help or have questions?
Please contact firstname.lastname@example.org with any additional questions.